Since I’ve been hard at work on my term paper I’ve been doing a lot of research. And I have used Google Scholar for some of that research. But Google Scholar is only one tool of many, and frankly, it should be lower on the list than you think.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to Google bash here. What I’m trying to say is that Google is a fine tool, but it may not be the right tool for the job. It’s like back when I was a kid and used to re-attach our rabbit ears to the back of the TV using a butter knife. The butter knife worked, but what I really needed was a precision screwdriver. I’m sure tons of folk are now googling “rabbit ears” and “butter knife” right now.

When it comes to research, Google is the butter knife. Sure it works, but it’s not the best tool for the job. The video below explains it better than I ever could, but suffice it to say, when you have research to do for school, your first stop should be at the library, not Google. And if you get to the library and feel lost, find the Reference desk. The Librarian will hook you up.

